Understanding NAATI Results: A Comprehensive Guide


The National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters (NAATI) plays a crucial role in ensuring the quality and professionalism of translation and interpreting services in Australia. NAATI offers certification to individuals who wish to work as translators and interpreters, and obtaining a NAATI certification is a significant achievement. This article aims to provide a comprehensive guide to help you understand NAATI results, the various certification levels, the scoring system, and what to expect after you’ve taken a NAATI test.

What is NAATI?

NAATI, the National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters, is a non-profit organization in Australia that specializes in assessing and accrediting professionals in the field of translation and interpreting. NAATI certifications are recognized and respected by government agencies, businesses, and organizations across the country. These certifications ensure that the individuals who hold them possess the necessary skills and competence to provide high-quality translation and interpretation services.

NAATI Certification Levels

NAATI offers various certification levels, each corresponding to different proficiency levels in translation and interpreting. Understanding these levels is crucial for those aiming to pursue a career in this field or for clients seeking qualified professionals. Here are the primary certification levels offered by NAATI:

1. Certified Provisional Interpreter (CPI): The CPI certification is the entry-level certification for interpreters. It is for individuals who have demonstrated basic competence in interpreting skills and language proficiency.

2. Certified Translator (CT): The CT certification is for individuals who have demonstrated the ability to translate documents from one language to another effectively. This certification is often sought by professional translators.

3. Certified Interpreter (CI): The CI certification is for interpreters who have demonstrated a high level of competence in interpreting skills and language proficiency. It is a step up from the CPI certification.

4. Certified Advanced Translator (CAT): The CAT certification is for experienced translators who can translate complex and specialized documents with a high degree of accuracy.

5. Certified Specialist Interpreter (CSI): The CSI certification is the highest level of interpreter certification, demonstrating expertise in a specific field or domain.

Scoring System for NAATI Tests

NAATI tests are rigorous, and they are designed to evaluate an individual’s language proficiency and translation or interpretation skills. Understanding the scoring system is essential for interpreting your results:

1. Pass: A pass indicates that you have demonstrated the required level of competence in the test. Your score is sufficient for certification at the specified level.

2. Fail: Failing the test means you did not meet the required standards for certification. You will need to retake the test to achieve a passing score.

3. Not Yet Competent (NYC): If you receive an NYC result, it means you have not met the minimum standards for certification, but you are not far off. With further practice and preparation, you may be able to pass the test in the future.

4. Not Applicable (NA): The NA result typically means that you were absent from part of the test, or the specific task was not applicable to your language pair.

5. Unsatisfactory (U): An unsatisfactory result signifies that you did not meet the required standards in the test. However, unlike a fail, an unsatisfactory result may indicate that there is potential for improvement with additional training and practice.

Receiving Your NAATI Results

NAATI provides test results through email, and you can usually expect to receive your results within a few weeks after taking the test. The email will detail your performance in each section of the test and provide information about your certification status. If you receive a pass, congratulations! You are now certified at the specified level. If you receive a fail, NYC, or U result, you will need to review your performance and decide whether to retake the test or pursue additional training to improve your skills.

What to Do After Receiving Your NAATI Results

After receiving your NAATI results, you might wonder what steps to take next. Here are some key considerations:

1. Celebrate Your Achievements: If you receive a pass, take a moment to celebrate your accomplishment. Earning a NAATI certification is a significant achievement and a testament to your language skills and professional competence.

2. Analyze Your Results: For those who receive an NYC or U result, it’s essential to analyze your performance in each section of the test. This will help you identify areas where you need improvement.

3. Seek Feedback: Reach out to NAATI or your test center to request feedback on your performance. Constructive feedback can be invaluable for pinpointing specific areas that need improvement.

4. Plan for Retesting: If you received an NYC or U result, you’ll need to decide whether to retake the test. Developing a study plan and seeking additional training can increase your chances of success on the next attempt.

5. Continue Professional Development: Even if you have already achieved NAATI certification, it’s crucial to continue your professional development. This might involve taking additional courses, attending workshops, or gaining more experience in your chosen field.

6. Network and Collaborate: Building a professional network in the translation and interpreting industry is essential. Attend conferences, join industry associations, and collaborate with colleagues to stay updated on the latest developments in the field.

7. Keep Up with Language Proficiency: Language proficiency is a vital component of NAATI certification. Keep practicing and improving your language skills to ensure you remain at the top of your game.

Read More: how long is naati valid for


NAATI certification is a prestigious recognition of your skills in translation and interpretation. Understanding the different certification levels, the scoring system, and what to do after receiving your results is essential for anyone pursuing a career in this field. Whether you’ve just achieved certification or are working to improve your results, remember that dedication, ongoing learning, and professional development are key to success in the world of translation and interpreting. Your NAATI certification is a valuable asset that can open doors to numerous opportunities in Australia’s diverse and multilingual society.

Appkod offers the perfect solution for businesses and individuals looking to develop their own mobile applications effortlessly. With its user-friendly interface, extensive template library, and powerful features, Appkod empowers anyone to create unique and professional mobile apps without the need for extensive coding knowledge.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button